College notes for Sunday, June 2

Hastings College honors theater, music students

HASTINGS — The Hastings College music and theater departments recognized outstanding student work during their end-of-the-year celebrations. Both departments awarded several traditional honors and scholarships specific to their disciplines.

The music department’s honors convocation took place May 8 in Perkins Auditorium. Awards and scholarships presented to area students:

Colt Hoselton, senior, Juniata, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Outstanding Sinfonian.

Nathan Jensen, senior, Hastings, Gordon L. and Mary Ohlsson Endowed Music Scholarship.

Jacob Nienhueser, senior, Juniata, Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Scholastic Award and Outstanding Senior in Music Award.

Katherine Welk, senior, Grand Island, Nebraska Association of Music Educators Accompanist.

The theater department presented its awards May 10 during the department’s annual Beaux Arts Theatre Dinner. The evening saw the initiation of new members into the Alpha Psi Omega theater honorary and the distribution of colored masks, which honor the artistic and academic excellence of junior and seniors from the department.

Miranda Aschoff, sophomore, Hastings, Scarlet Mask.

Alex Rieflin, sophomore, Doniphan, Lloyd S. and Helen M. Jones Scholarship, Scarlet Mask.

Randi Scoggins, sophomore, Hastings, Scarlet Mask.

Doane announces spring 2017 Dean’s List

CRETE — Doane University has announced the 252 students named to the Dean’s List for spring 2017. Students must achieve a minimum 3.7 grade point average on a 4.0 scale and hold 12 graded hours to qualify for this academic distinction.

The following are area students who appeared on Doane University’s 2017 Spring Dean’s List:

Hunter Kleinschmidt, sophomore, and Keeliann Mark, sophomore, both of Aurora; Karly Nitsch, junior, Boelus; Kellen Korinek, sophomore, Cairo; Kayla Bachle, freshman, Brandon Gannon, freshman, Rachel Jacobsen, senior, Kenzie Kneeland, junior, Braden Knuth, senior, Dylan Mayfield, senior, and Ashley Scherer, senior, all of Grand Island;

Tayma Sebek, freshman, Hampton; Austin Uden, graduate, Hastings; Mikayla Bankson, junior, Hordville; Kathryn Grint, freshman, North Loup; Shayla L. Wichmann, graduate, Palmer; Shannon Stuhlmiller, graduate, St. Edward; and Benjamin Zwiener, sophomore, Silver Creek.


The Rev. Trudy Kenyon Anderson and the Rev. Russell Anderson of Grand Island both earned Doctor of Ministry degrees with Revitalizing Congregation specializations from St. Paul School of Theology in Leawood, Kan., on May 12. Kenyon Anderson, who serves as senior pastor at First-Faith United Methodist Church, received her degree with academic honors. Anderson is associate pastor at Trinity United Methodist Church.

A Northwest High School graduate was among students receiving degrees from Park University in Parkville, Mo., on May 13. Jenna Pehriz of Kansas City, Mo., received her bachelor of science in social psychology.

Three area residents graduated from Iowa State University on May 26. The graduates were Katlyn Bunde of Doniphan, doctor of veterinary medicine, cum laude; Danielle Mettenbrink of Grand Island, bachelor of science, aerospace engineering, cum laude, honors program member; and Justine Schmidt of Grand Island, bachelor of science, mechanical engineering.


Sarah Vollers, a senior nursing major of Central City, was among approximately 860 students named to the spring dean’s list at Bob Jones University in Greenville, S.C. The dean’s list recognizes students who earn a 3.00-3.74 grade point average during the semester.

Garret Dockweiler of Oconto is one of 17 health professions students advancing from Chadron State College to professional schools. He will study medicine at the University of Nebraska Medical Center.

Thirty University of Nebraska-Lincoln students were recognized last month as outstanding agents of character and integrity by being named to Franco’s List. Among them were Angelica Carlini of Grand Island, junior, marketing and management; and Trevor Burr of Kenesaw, junior, accounting. Students named to Franco’s List — named after Juan Franco, the university’s vice chancellor for student affairs — represent six building blocks of character: caring, citizenship, commitment, dependability, open-mindedness and respect.

Megan Tofflemire of Shelton has been chosen for the inaugural Rural Law Opportunities Program (RLOP) class for the 2017-18 academic year at Wayne State College. RLOP is a new partnership between Wayne State and the University of Nebraska College of Law designed to recruit students from rural areas and train them to become lawyers who will return and practice in their communities. Tofflemire plans to major in criminal justice with a Spanish minor.


The Nebraska Corvette Association presented a $1,000 scholarship to Blaine Gascho of Cairo, who is in the automotive service educational program at Southeast Community College-Milford. His sponsoring General Motors dealership is Tom Dinsdale Automotive in Grand Island.

Gascho was chosen for his scholarship in the classroom and his outstanding work ethic.He will return to Tom Dinsdale Automotive this month for his fourth-quarter dealer cooperative experience.

Source Article